U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame announces 2022 inductees


The class of 2022 has been announced for the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame. Five new hockey icons will receive the honor: Jim Johannson, Steve Cash, Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson, Monique Lamoureux-Morando and Ryan Miller.

The induction event — the 50th anniversary of the Hall — will be held on November 30, 2022 in St. Paul, Minnesota. Mike Trimboli, president of USA Hockey, released a statement:

“These five individuals have had a tremendously positive impact on hockey in America. They have all made countless contributions to the game throughout their impressive careers and their impact will be felt for years to come. We look forward to honoring them as the 50th class of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in November.”

There are few people who have affected hockey as much as the late Jim Johannson, who spent nearly two decades at the top of USA Hockey and had an effect on so many of the best players to come from America. The USA Hockey College Player of the Year award was renamed to the Jim Johansson Award in 2019 after his death, and his addition to the Hall of Fame was only a matter of time.

Cash, one of the best sled hockey players of all time, has three Paralympic gold medals and five World Championship titles. He made his debut on the international stage at the age of 16 and posted an all-time record of 129-40 with an incredible .898 save percentage over his career in goal for Team USA.

The Lamoureux twins, as they came to be known, were some of the most dominant players in the game during their time, winning six World Championship golds, an Olympic gold and several other silver medals on the international level. Having last competed for Team USA in 2018, they were always going to go into the Hall together.

Miller, perhaps the most recognizable name to NHL fans, had one of the most successful professional careers ever from an American-born netminder. His 391 regular-season wins rank 14th all-time among NHL goaltenders, and he won the Vezina trophy in 2010 as a member of the Buffalo Sabres. Internationally, Miller won an Olympic silver medal at the 2010 Olympics, where he posted a pristine .946 save percentage to lead the U.S. team within inches of gold.

It is easy to forget just how dominant Miller was at the college level, given his success in the NHL. He won the CCHA Best Goaltender award in each of his three seasons at Michigan State, posting a career .941 save percentage during his 106 NCAA games. He won the Hobey Baker in 2001 and was a first-team All-American in both his sophomore and junior campaigns. He retired in 2021 following his 18th season in the NHL.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here